👤
Home Man
Search
Today's Posts
Register

Discuss UNIX and Linux computer and network security, cyber security, cyber attacks, IT security, and more.

Log Review- SU

👤 Login to reply

 
Thread Tools Search this Thread
# 1  
Old 09-17-2015
Log Review- SU

Hi,

Can some please provide some hints on what to look for in unix/Linux logs such as sulog from a Information security perspective.

Regards
# 2  
Old 09-17-2015
Repetitive failed tries could be a hint for some unusual behaviour.

Else you might go look up this log when something bad has happened already to get a clue afterwards who might have been it.

If this is not enough and you are looking for some more information, which commands have been issued by whom etc., you might want to have a look at an auditing suite.
Maybe auditd is available for your Linux distribution.
# 3  
Old 09-22-2015
Our policy is that every use of su or sudo has to be explained. Just collecting the records and challenging is a good start, however I added something in to /etc/profile that tries to log all the commands too. There are certainly some flaws with it and it depends on people doing su - or su - username to run the profile and therefore be effective, but that has always been the habit here, so I got away with that.

There were various other application specific things embedded in the code but having stripped that out, I think this might still work:-
Code:
function lgcmd
{
 cur_cmd_seq=`fc -l -0 | cut -f1`
 if [ "$cur_cmd_seq" != "$prev_cmd_seq" ]
 then
    prev_cmd_seq="$cur_cmd_seq"
    /usr/bin/logger "on $PTS as `id -un`: `fc -l -0 | cut -f2-`"
 fi
}

prev_cmd_seq=                  # Set as null in case shell refuses unset variables
trap lgcmd DEBUG

You would need to determine the pseudo-terminal as $PTS but the rest gives you a fairly good trace to challenge people with.


I hope that this helps,
Robin
👤 Login to reply

« Previous Thread | Next Thread »
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

More UNIX and Linux Forum Topics You Might Find Helpful
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Netsat output-Please review Vishal_dba IP Networking 2 04-21-2014 06:03 AM
a shell script for review. robsonde Shell Programming and Scripting 8 10-07-2009 04:11 AM
please review this cron syntax jenovaux Solaris 2 06-16-2009 06:39 AM
Please, review script. algernonz Shell Programming and Scripting 1 11-09-2008 08:01 PM
Where can I review the source code? Aaron Van UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers 1 09-08-2007 02:58 AM
Can someone review my code tell me where I am going wrong? chrchcol Shell Programming and Scripting 4 07-28-2006 06:54 PM
Can some review my code would be appreicated? sibghat Shell Programming and Scripting 1 09-29-2005 03:51 PM


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 06:04 PM.

Unix & Linux Forums Content Copyrightę1993-2018. All Rights Reserved.
×
UNIX.COM Login
Username:
Password:  
Show Password