KDE install

Special Forums UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers KDE install
# 1  
Old 03-20-2002
Bug KDE install

I am pretty new to Unix. I am running Solaris 8 on a Sun Ultra 5. I installed the Solaris 8 software companion cd which included the KDE desktop. I located the the KDE bin file that starts KDE, but I cannot find any setup files. I'm not sure if I need to run any setup files. It looks like all of the KDE files were dumped into a common directory. I do not see any tar or zip files. I cannot find any setup instructions for the installation, just using it. I get a bunch of X errors when I try to start KDE from the command line before logging into a gui. I tried starting KDE after I logged into CDE, but it starts in a seperate window and the menu items don't work. Is there a way to get KDE in the option list for the login gui? I installed the GNOME desktop from Solaris, and it works fine and is included in the login gui. If I get the KDE link into the login gui, would it boot? I am at work, so I do not have specific details at this time. If anyone could get me started ......
# 2  
Old 04-04-2002
Question Free Bsd

Im having the same problem with Free bsd unix and i want to setup my gui interface i have gnome and kde installed just want to know how can i configure it to work. Im pretty new with unix i know some stuff about it but i want to also learn how get into files and delete them and how to view logs.
# 3  
Old 04-26-2009
Hammer & Screwdriver

Open up the terminal configuration file, /etc/ttys, in a text editor such as ee:
# ee /etc/ttys

Use the arrow keys to move down to the line beginning with ttyv8; press Enter to create a blank line below it, and add a new line enabling KDM, the KDE Display Manager:
ttyv6 "/usr/libexec/getty Pc" cons25 on secure
ttyv7 "/usr/libexec/getty Pc" cons25 on secure
ttyv8 "/usr/X11R6/bin/xdm -nodaemon" xterm off secure
ttyv9 "/usr/local/bin/kdm -nodaemon" xterm on secure
# Serial terminals