Home Man
Today's Posts

Linux & Unix Commands - Search Man Pages

RedHat 9 (Linux i386) - man page for faillog (redhat section 8)

FAILLOG(8)			     System Manager's Manual			       FAILLOG(8)

       faillog - examine faillog and set login failure limits

       faillog [-u login-name] [-a] [-t days]
	       [-m max] [-pr]

       faillog	formats  the contents of the failure log, /var/log/faillog, and maintains failure
       counts and limits.  The order of the arguments to faillog is significant.   Each  argument
       is processed immediately in the order given.

       The  -p	flag  causes  failure entries to be printed in UID order.  Entering -u login-name
       flag will cause the failure record for login-name only to be printed.   Entering  -t  days
       will  cause  only the failures more recent than days to be printed.  The -t flag overrides
       the use of -u.  The -a flag causes all users to be selected.  When used with the -p  flag,
       this  option  selects all users who have ever had a login failure.  It is meaningless with
       the -r flag.

       The -r flag is used to reset the count of login failures.  Write access to  /var/log/fail-
       log is required for this option.  Entering -u login-name will cause only the failure count
       for login-name to be reset.

       The -m flag is used to set the maximum number of login failures before the account is dis-
       abled.	Write  access  to  /var/log/faillog is required for this option.  Entering -m max
       will cause all accounts to be disabled after max failed logins occur.  This may	be  modi-
       fied  with -u login-name to limit this function to login-name only.  Selecting a max value
       of 0 has the effect of not placing a limit on the number of failed  logins.   The  maximum
       failure	count  should always be 0 for root to prevent a denial of services attack against
       the system.

       Options may be combined in virtually any fashion.  Each -p, -r, and -m option  will  cause
       immediate execution using any -u or -t modifier.

       faillog	only  prints out users with no successful login since the last failure.  To print
       out a user who has had a successful login since their last failure,  you  must  explicitly
       request the user with the -u flag, or print out all users with the -a flag.

       Some systems may replace /var/log with /var/adm or /usr/adm.

       /var/log/faillog - failure logging file

       login(1), faillog(5)

       Julianne Frances Haugh (jockgrrl@ix.netcom.com)


All times are GMT -4. The time now is 05:47 PM.

Unix & Linux Forums Content Copyrightę1993-2018. All Rights Reserved.
Show Password