Home Man
Today's Posts

Linux & Unix Commands - Search Man Pages

RedHat 9 (Linux i386) - man page for chkconfig (redhat section 8)

CHKCONFIG(8)			     System Manager's Manual			     CHKCONFIG(8)

       chkconfig - updates and queries runlevel information for system services

       chkconfig --list [name]
       chkconfig --add name
       chkconfig --del name
       chkconfig [--level levels] name <on|off|reset>
       chkconfig [--level levels] name

       chkconfig provides a simple command-line tool for maintaining the /etc/rc[0-6].d directory
       hierarchy by relieving system administrators of the  task  of  directly	manipulating  the
       numerous symbolic links in those directories.

       This implementation of chkconfig was inspired by the chkconfig command present in the IRIX
       operating system.  Rather  than	maintaining  configuration  information  outside  of  the
       /etc/rc[0-6].d	hierarchy,  however,  this  version  directly  manages	the  symlinks  in
       /etc/rc[0-6].d. This leaves all of the configuration information regarding  what  services
       init starts in a single location.

       chkconfig  has  five distinct functions: adding new services for management, removing ser-
       vices from management, listing the current startup information for services, changing  the
       startup information for services, and checking the startup state of a particular service.

       When  chkconfig is run without any options, it displays usage information.  If only a ser-
       vice name is given, it checks to see if the service is configured to  be  started  in  the
       current	runlevel.  If  it  is,	chkconfig  returns  true; otherwise it returns false. The
       --level option may be used to have chkconfig query an alternative runlevel rather than the
       current one.

       If  one	of  on,  off, or reset is specified after the service name, chkconfig changes the
       startup information for the specified service.  The on and off flags cause the service  to
       be  started  or	stopped,  respectively,  in  the runlevels being changed.  The reset flag
       resets the startup information for the service to whatever is specified in the init script
       in question.

       By  default,  the  on  and  off	options affect only runlevels 2, 3, 4, and 5, while reset
       affects all of the runlevels.  The --level option may be used to specify  which	runlevels
       are affected.

       Note  that  for	every  service, each runlevel has either a start script or a stop script.
       When switching runlevels, init will not re-start an already-started service, and will  not
       re-stop a service that is not running.

       --level levels
	      Specifies the run levels an operation should pertain to. It is given as a string of
	      numbers from 0 to 7. For example, --level 35 specifies runlevels 3 and 5.

       --add name

	      This option adds a new service for management by chkconfig.  When a new service  is
	      added,  chkconfig  ensures  that	the service has either a start or a kill entry in
	      every runlevel. If any runlevel is missing such an  entry,  chkconfig  creates  the
	      appropriate  entry as specified by the default values in the init script. Note that
	      default entries in LSB-delimited 'INIT INFO'  sections  take  precedence	over  the
	      default runlevels in the initscript.

       --del name
	      The  service  is	removed  from  chkconfig  management,  and  any symbolic links in
	      /etc/rc[0-6].d which pertain to it are removed.

       --list name
	      This option lists all of the services which chkconfig knows about, and whether they
	      are  stopped or started in each runlevel. If name is specified, information in only
	      display about service name.

       Each service which should be manageable by chkconfig needs two  or  more  commented  lines
       added  to  its  init.d  script.	The first line tells chkconfig what runlevels the service
       should be started in by default, as well as the start and stop  priority  levels.  If  the
       service	should	not, by default, be started in any runlevels, a - should be used in place
       of the runlevels list.  The second line contains a description for the service, and may be
       extended across multiple lines with backslash continuation.

       For example, random.init has these three lines:
       # chkconfig: 2345 20 80
       # description: Saves and restores system entropy pool for \
       #	      higher quality random number generation.
       This  says  that  the  random  script should be started in levels 2, 3, 4, and 5, that its
       start priority should be 20, and that its stop priority should be 80.  You should be  able
       to figure out what the description says; the \ causes the line to be continued.	The extra
       space in front of the line is ignored.

       init(8) ntsysv(8) serviceconf(8)

       Erik Troan <ewt@redhat.com>

4th Berkeley Distribution		  Wed Oct 8 1997			     CHKCONFIG(8)

All times are GMT -4. The time now is 12:05 AM.

Unix & Linux Forums Content Copyrightę1993-2018. All Rights Reserved.
Show Password