Multiple send()'s

Top Forums Programming Multiple send()'s
# 1  
Old 12-30-2007
Multiple send()'s

Hi guys I'm quite new to socket programming. I'm using Beej's guide.

I have a program that requests a html page and downloads it one character at a time stopping when it reaches an EOF. I do this with the send() and recv() functions. When I'm finished I use send() again to get another page but I instantly get a EOF back. Both pages are working.

I'm not sure what i'm missing and would appreciate if any one could help. Thanks in advance.

Edit Figured it now was using HTTP 1.0!

Last edited by seanword; 12-30-2007 at 11:21 AM..
# 2  
Old 12-30-2007
If you are using send and recv I don't see the point in testing for eof or reading data one character at a time. send and recv have perefectly reasonable ways to deal with data streams without the stdio constructs. The probable cause for your second page eof failure is a logic problem in testing for eof and/or that the recv hasn't read any data and the old data is still stored in memory. Don't know because you haven't posted sample code.

Here's a hacked up echo client with eof inclusions for an example of send and recv..it may help.
Code:
#include <stdio.h>
#include <stdlib.h>
#include <string.h>
#include <unistd.h>
#include <sys/types.h>
#include <sys/socket.h>
#include <netinet/in.h>
#include <arpa/inet.h>
#include <time.h>

#define BSZ 25
#define EPORT 7

int makeConnect(char *);
void chomp(char *);
int iseofhere(char *);
void addeof(char *);

int main(int argc , char **argv) {
int s, err, p = 0;
char sbuf[BSZ];
char rbuf[BSZ];

if (argc != 2) {printf("Please provide a host ip address for connect().\n"); return 1;}
                     srand(time(NULL));
                     if ( (s = makeConnect(argv[1])) <= 0) {
                          perror("makeconnect()");
                          return 1;
                     }

bzero(sbuf,BSZ);
                     while (1) {