Making Changes without opening file

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Making Changes without opening file
# 1  
Old 03-13-2006
Making Changes without opening file

Hello,

I'm new to scripting, I have a file test.dat. I want to make changes to it with out openning it.

Example: test.dat has rows, and I want to change value "LA" to "TX" without opening it or without writing it to another file.

Is it possible?

Thanks
# 2  
Old 03-14-2006
perl -pi -e "s/LA/TX/g;" test.dat

Cheers
ZB
# 3  
Old 03-14-2006
Try this one sed 's/LA/TX/g' filename > filename1
# 4  
Old 03-14-2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by dhana_1979
Try this one sed 's/LA/TX/g' filename > filename1
request was not to write to another file,
your command redirects to filename1
in such a case you need to use the -i option available in GNU sed
# 5  
Old 03-14-2006
Code:
(echo 'g/LA/TX/g'; echo 'wq') | ex -s filename

# 6  
Old 03-15-2006
Code:
ruby -i -pe 'gsub(/LA/,"TX")' test.dat

Smilie
# 7  
Old 03-15-2006
Quote:
awk '{gsub("LA","TX"); print}' filename
I asked the same question last time ^O^. Its the easiest way to solve ur problem.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to read a file without opening the file and delete last line?

I have file called "text". The contents are as below : aaa bbb ccc ddd eee ffff ddd hhhh iiii I want to read this file without opening and and delete the last line. How can it be done? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: the_hunter
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Opening a file in vi and automatically save and quit this file using shell script