How to grep a string in todays file

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to grep a string in todays file
# 1  
Old 04-05-2010
How to grep a string in todays file

Hello guys - I am new to Unix.

I am trying to understand how to grep a perticular string in todays file?

I am trying this syntax but not getting what I am looking for:

% grep `date '+%d/%b/%Y'`

For instance there are 2 files generated today with same data. I am trying to find them and then search inside either one of them.

Thank you
# 2  
Old 04-05-2010
Hello,

You should give 2 arguments to grep command. 1 is search string (`date '+%d/%b/%Y'`) in your case & file to search for. So you want to find (date '+%d/%b/%Y') string in file ?

-Nithin.
# 3  
Old 04-05-2010
Hi i am actually looking for a string "lostER" in a file that is generated today.

So would it be like this:

grep -i 'lostER' | grep date '+%d/%b/%Y
# 4  
Old 04-05-2010
I recommend you read the grep man page.
To look for a string in a file :
Code:
grep <STRING> <FILE>

# 5  
Old 04-05-2010
No thats not what I am looking for. I already know basic grep commands.

This is about searching for todays file and then looking for a string inside it.
# 6  
Old 04-05-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by DallasT
...This is about searching for todays file ...
Ok, assuming that today is 5th April, 2010 what would be the name of "today's file" in your file system ?

tyler_durden
# 7  
Old 04-05-2010
It would be something like this:

ERProcessBD04052010*****.txt

The * represent a random changing numeric value.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replace string of a file with a string of another file for matches using grep,sed,awk