What is the difference between printf and putchar() or scanf and getchar() ?

Top Forums Programming What is the difference between printf and putchar() or scanf and getchar() ?
# 1  
Old 12-03-2012
What is the difference between printf and putchar() or scanf and getchar() ?

Im a newbie to programming language, i found tat there r these function called printf and putchar() as well as scanf and getchar(), im curious abt why do dey hav these 2 different function although dey r doing the same instruction? Smilie
# 2  
Old 12-03-2012
printf lets you format strings in a complicated way, substituting things like integers and floats and other strings.

getchar and putchar get and put characters.

See their respective manual pages ( man 3 printf man 3 putchar )
# 3  
Old 12-03-2012
okay thanks, Smilie

---------- Post updated at 09:57 AM ---------- Previous update was at 09:36 AM ----------

btw i still hav a question abt tis program, it is a program to count then number of occurrences of each digit. At the "while" part, why shud we nid to put [c-'0'] and not [c] for the ++ndigit to execute tis program? Smilie
Code:
#include <stdio.h>

int main()
{
	int i, c;
	int ndigit[10];
	for (i = 0; i < 100; ++i)
		ndigit[i] = 0;

while ((c = getchar()) != EOF)
		++ndigit[c-'0'];

printf("digits =");
	for (i = 0; i < 10; ++i)
		printf(" %d", ndigit[i]);
}

# 4  
Old 12-04-2012
The first 16 characters of ASCII, including zero, are nonprinting control characters. The ASCII letter '0' is not the binary number 0. Try this:

Code:
printf("%d\n", 0);
printf("%d\n", '0');

It's actually 48, you see. It's not a real number, just a code representing a letter on the screen. To get a real number out you have to translate.

The ASCII characters 0 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 are conveniently in order, probably designed that way. So subtracting '0' from '0' gets 0, subtracting '0' from '1' gets 1, and so forth.
This User Gave Thanks to Corona688 For This Post:
# 5  
Old 12-04-2012
Quote: