How to match a exact word in a variable ????

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting How to match a exact word in a variable ????
# 1  
Old 11-20-2009
How to match a exact word in a variable ????

Hi All,

Str="online maintenance"
if [ $str == "online" ] then perform some action

I know the above comparison is wrong ..... Actually I am very new to this solaris..

I want to check for online in a variable and perform some action based on that How can I do it?
# 2  
Old 11-20-2009
which shell are you using bash,ksh ??
# 3  
Old 11-20-2009
ksh shell
# 4  
Old 11-20-2009
Code:
if [ "$(echo $Str | grep online)" ]; then
  echo Online
fi

# 5  
Old 11-20-2009
Or:

Code:
#!/bin/ksh

Str="online maintenance"

case $Str in
  online*) echo Yes
	;;
  *)	echo No
	;;
esac

# 6  
Old 11-20-2009
bash(newer solaris)
Code:
str="online maintenance"
case "$str" in 
  *online* ) echo "Found";;  
esac

# 7  
Old 11-20-2009
Or:
Code:
#!/bin/ksh
str="online maintenance"
if [[ "$str" = *online* ]]
then echo Yes
else echo No
fi

Jean-Pierre.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk to update file based on partial match in field1 and exact match in field2

I am trying to create a cronjob that will run on startup that will look at a list.txt file to see if there is a later version of a database using database.txt as the source. The matching lines are written to output. $1 in database.txt will be in list.txt as a partial match. $2 of database.txt... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: cmccabe
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Replacing exact match

Hi All, My Input file contains a 1000’s of lines in which I have to replace a a string to the other. Here the problem is, I have the lines in my Input as below. Cable Yes && !Pay TV && !ADS \noUE \Label="Cable Yes && !Pay TV && !ADS" I want to replace exactly the string Cable Yes &&... (37 Replies)