Linux is Unix???

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Linux is Unix???
# 1  
Old 05-16-2002
Linux is Unix???

Could anyone explain if Linux is Unix? I'm a newbie here, just installed Oracle 8i on Redhat 7.2.
# 2  
Old 05-16-2002
Yes Linux is Unix. Linux is created by Linus Trovald with the help of many contributors and helpers all over the Internet. Linux is one of Unix variant. Infact you can see many components (Software/Programs) are similar among other variant of Unix's
# 3  
Old 05-16-2002
Thx, I have to get starting for Unix due to Oracle system. Is Sun Solaris nice?
# 4  
Old 05-16-2002
Depends, on how you get on it. But for solaris the h/ware specs are diffrent. Anyway Solaris are capable for doing many things too same like other unix variants. All depends on how we get used to it thats it.. you will fly with it as soon as you familiar..

Smilie
# 5  
Old 05-16-2002
I suggest sticking with RedHat, it has a better user interface, and is much more user friendly. Remeber- Linux is just another flavour of unix (i.e.: OS X, BSD, etc...). The kernel for Linux was just made by Mr. Torvalds, who currently heads the largest Linux core development team, Open Source, of course.
boris888

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. What is on Your Mind?

YouTube: Forum Moderation @UNIX.com | The UNIX and Linux Forums

Forum Moderation @UNIX.com | The UNIX and Linux Forums https://youtu.be/WGwgibE4Rq0 Also note: In the video I mentioned removing legacy menu items in the ModCP which are unused. I have already "CSS'ed out" the unused menu items: ... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Neo
0 Replies

2. Post Here to Contact Site Administrators and Moderators

VIP Membership - The UNIX and Linux Forums - Get Your UNIX.COM Email Address Here