need help to understand and write script in fork

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting need help to understand and write script in fork
# 1  
Old 10-25-2007
need help to understand and write script in fork

Can anybody help me for writing unix shell scripting on fork();
it will be appreciated, if any body can send me sample, tutorial ...with details.
# 2  
Old 10-25-2007
If you're familiar with C, see this

If you're familiar with Perl, see this
# 3  
Old 10-25-2007
hey thanx, but i am a layman to fork, how my scripts which is shell script use this forking process, do you have sample tutorial with description......
it will be appreciated, if you can teach me fork.
# 4  
Old 10-25-2007
Advanced Bash-Scripting Guide has some information and an example:

http://www.tldp.org/LDP/abs/html/internal.html#FORKREF
# 5  
Old 10-26-2007
hey MA,

THANX A LOT........BUT WILE GOING THRU THE SAMPLE I FOUND THERE IS A WORD pidof , WHAT IS THIS ???? IS THIS A KEYWORD OR SOMETHONG ELSE....IF SO CAN U EXPLAIN PLEASE ......
# 6  
Old 10-26-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by manas_ranjan
hey MA,

THANX A LOT........BUT WILE GOING THRU THE SAMPLE I FOUND THERE IS A WORD pidof , WHAT IS THIS ???? IS THIS A KEYWORD OR SOMETHONG ELSE....IF SO CAN U EXPLAIN PLEASE ......
pidof finds the process ID of a running program. A good way to understand things is to try them out: go to your command shell and execute "pidof sh" or "pidof bash".

In a script, you could use "$$" to get the Process ID of the script instance but pidof has the extra advantage of giving you *all* process ids of instances of the script.

Last edited by neked; 10-26-2007 at 11:37 AM.. Reason: added some information about pidof
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers

Help me understand this script