Testing for EOF during a while loop

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Testing for EOF during a while loop
# 1  
Old 10-07-2010
Testing for EOF during a while loop

I'm a complete UNIX newbie trying to write a simple shell script. The pseudo-code for the part I'm having trouble with is as such:

read something
while [ there is something ]; do this

The loop terminates at EOF (like when Ctrl+D is pushed) and displays the number of lines the user entered (kept in the loop as a variable that increments...easy). Thing is, I can't figure out how to set the loop condition to end when it reaches EOF (usually when the user pushes Ctrl+D). Any suggestions?
# 2  
Old 10-07-2010
One idea, but it always helps to know what Shell you are using. If nothing else because there is variation on the syntax for echo.

Code:
counter=0
while true
do
        echo "Enter something: \c" ; read ans
        if [ "${ans}""X" = "X" ]
        then
                break
        fi
        counter=`expr ${counter} + 1`
done
echo "You answered ${counter} times"

This User Gave Thanks to methyl For This Post:
# 3  
Old 10-07-2010
Thanks, that actually works...but now I'd like to understand how it works. I think the line I'm most confused with is this one:

if [ "${ans}""X" = "X" ]
Is this the one that tests for EOF? I'm not quite sure what it's doing. All the other lines of script I seem to understand, except this one...
# 4  
Old 10-07-2010
Alternatively:
Code:
i=0
while read ans
do 
  i=$(( i+1 ))
done
echo $i

# 5  
Old 10-07-2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sovereign110
Thanks, that actually works...but now I'd like to understand how it works. I think the line I'm most confused with is this one:

if [ "${ans}""X" = "X" ]
Is this the one that tests for EOF? I'm not quite sure what it's doing. All the other lines of script I seem to understand, except this one...