sharing a unified dbaseIII file between 4 SCO boxes

Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users sharing a unified dbaseIII file between 4 SCO boxes
# 1  
Old 08-07-2004
sharing a unified dbaseIII file between 4 SCO boxes

Hi,

I have an application which must use a unified database, the application will run on 4 SCO boxes, so the database will be in one of them and the application in the other 3 servers will access this database on the host machine. This is as a file sharing application in windows. I know this can be done using NFS/NIS in Unix. I just need a hint how/where to start.

man nfs - man nis ; both gave some info, but not helpful for my level. Any hints? A hint would be enough as I like to DIG my head to learn better.

An no this is not a homework, it is a jobwork, and i am new to unix. thanks.
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need a script to scp a file to multiple boxes

Hello All, I am new to scripting and I am trying to write a script which can scp a file from one box to multiple boxes. I am thinking to do like this. 1) create a file with list of all server names 2)write a script which will pick up each server line by line from server list and copy it to... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: sintilash
1 Replies

2. Red Hat

Public file sharing on redhat

Hello, I want to share my folder on redhat like 192.168.x.x\share But I can't use 3rd party packets/application or something like that. And I want to see shared folder on windows2003 server command with \\192.168.x.x\share. Basicly I need to know what should I do step by step. (13 Replies)
Discussion started by: getrue
13 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

file sharing