AIX Health Check

Operating Systems AIX AIX Health Check
# 1  
Old 06-25-2015
AIX Health Check

Hi everyone, I am new to the Unix admin position, needed some help. My management wants to report how their over all AIX servers / environment is doing so far. I've been researching and found multiple commands to run on each LPAR, well I have few questions and also wanted to share the commands Im running, and wanted feed back if these commands are enough to show the environment is doing well, or should I do something different? also I'm not a scripter, but is there a way I can some how generate a script to automate this tast for me on each LPAR / every LPAR in the system? (our system is very small maybe 40 LPARs big)

Please let me know if I should provide more details to maybe get a better response.

Thanks in advance Smilie

commands gathered so far:-
  1. topas
  2. svmon -G -O unit=GB
  3. nmon then press n
  4. df -g
  5. netstat -rn
  6. lsvg -p rootvg
  7. vmstat
  8. iostat

Last edited by rbatte1; 06-26-2015 at 08:11 AM.. Reason: Converted text to numbered list with LIST=1 tags
# 2  
Old 06-25-2015
Quote:
Originally Posted by Adnans2k
My management wants to report how their over all AIX servers / environment is doing so far.
That is a pretty wide field you are plowing there. Systems administration is not so much a question of doing something but tho painstakingly exact describe what has to be done. I'll be glad to provide commands for everything that needs to be done but let us first discuss what you understand when you say "how ... is doing".

Many commands you quoted are related to performance issues. You might want to read a little introduction to this for a discussion what "performance" is. But the question is: do you think performance issues need a constant monitoring? Are your systems that mission-critical performance-wise?