Get command-output to webpage from solaris-10-OS invoked from html webpages

Top Forums Web Development Get command-output to webpage from solaris-10-OS invoked from html webpages
# 1  
Old 09-04-2012
Get command-output to webpage from solaris-10-OS invoked from html webpages

Hello,
I am a middleware administrator and as an admin I need to monitor a number of middleware instances (weblogic servers). But since it is a not the forum for that i would like to put my problem in simple terms and need guidance on that.
I need to use apache webserver on Solaris 10 zones to host a html site. The buttons on the html page will invoke shell-scripts/weblogic-mbean-commands/WLST-scripts using CGI , to get the required output on the webpage.
Apache htaccess will be required for authentication.

The restriction is that all the components should be free. Only Solaris 10 is affordable here.
Is it a feasible+practical solution ?
Is there any other better solution to this(which wont require any licensing products )?
Need your guidance.
Thanks,
Poga
# 2  
Old 09-10-2012
CGI ouput goes to the web page by default, ok as content type text/plain but that is usually a bit drab; ok in a frame, maybe. Command output needs a little post-processing to be friendly to the middle of a text/html page in a <PRE> element.
Code:
echo '<PRE>'

( echo '$ command_line'

command_line 2>&1
  echo '$'
 )| sed '
    s/\&/&amp;/g
    s/"/\&quot;/g
    s/</\&lt;/g
    s/>/\&gt;/g
 '

echo '</PRE>
<HR>'