Linux/Ubuntu Mondo/Mindi question, please help...

Operating Systems Linux SuSE Linux/Ubuntu Mondo/Mindi question, please help...
# 1  
Old 07-22-2008
Linux/Ubuntu Mondo/Mindi question, please help...

I am not very good with Linux/Ubuntu (I'm a newbie) but I will explain my problem as best I can and I hope someone can help me.

I have an Ubuntu Server, version 6.10 and installed on it is a Postgresql database which I have about 100 remote clients constantly accessing it (sending and requesting data). I also have the latest version of Mondo installed and I recently made a live back up (when I did the backup to .iso images, I left Postgresql running and the box connected to the database, with the remote clients still using the database).

Mondo made 6 .iso images which I later moved to a Windows XP Pro machine and burned CD's with them (there were no errors when buring the iso images to CDs).

I then took an exact duplicate machine (both are Dell's with same exact hardware inside) and booted off the 1st CD and began to 'restore' the backup on this new machine using the Mondo/Mindi GUI.
During the process after the 1st CD just started to be 'restored' to this new machine, I got an error that mentioned 'out of memory' 'Kill process 12420 (mondorestore) score 164 and children' ... and left me at a 'BusyBox 1.00' prompt....

My question is; Did this 'restore error' happen because I made the mondo backup with postgresql live and running while clients where still accessing the machine?

Do you think if I shut down Postgresql and pulled the machine off the internet, and then did a Mondo back up, the 'restore' would then work?

I appreciate any and all help you can give me.

Thank you.
# 2  
Old 07-22-2008