Performance stats from AIX 6

Operating Systems AIX Performance stats from AIX 6
# 1  
Old 07-07-2014
Performance stats from AIX 6

Hi,
I'm supposed to capture many performance stats on AIX 6 and stuck up with below:

Priority queue
Disk cache hit%
Page out rate
Swap out rate
Memory queue

I see vmstatis helpful for "page out" but not sure how to get the "rate".

Could anyone please let me know how to get these values?

Thanks!
# 2  
Old 07-07-2014
I am not an AIX expert, but the following should apply to all Unix.
Take the last line from
Code:
vmstat 1 2

and
Code:
iostat 1 2

A longer interval gives better precision:
Code:
vmstat 3 2

Code:
iostat 3 2

# 3  
Old 07-07-2014
For longterm monitoring you should set up nmon. The complete documentation about it can be found on the IBM wiki site.

Check these:
nmon performance: A free tool to analyze AIX and Linux performance
https://www.ibm.com/developerworks/c.../nmon%20Manual

... and also the nmon2rrd Tool and some more interessting to have a graphical output.
# 4  
Old 07-07-2014
Thanks MadeInGermany and zaxxon for the replies.

@zaxxon - Initially i considered nmon but It didn't provide me all I needed and also we needed output in a specific CSV format only (even though nmon provides CSV output but it looked very confusing). We don't need any graphics output/reports.

I just captured the stats again using nmon -fT -s 15 -c 4 but I still seem to be missing the below much needed metrics.

- Priority queue
- Disk cache hit%
- Memory queue

Can we customize nmon to get these as well or any other alternative? Please advise.

Thanks and kind regards,
# 5  
Old 07-10-2014
1. Priority queue
?? What about CPU run queue? sar -q 5 5
2. Disk cache hit%
disk cache hit make sense only for storage based disks, the OS is not aware of that, you need to get this from the storage itself, try TPC, STOR2RRD or other storage perf tools
3. Page out rate
vmstat 5 5 (po metric), vmstat -s
4. Swap out rate
vmstat 5 5 (pi metric), vmstat -s