Question is redundant but please advice

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Question is redundant but please advice
# 1  
Old 09-25-2007
Question is redundant but please advice

I am really really new to Unix. I'm lost with so many books around for different shell. I'm thinking of taking a course on Operating Systems but it contains a lot of Unix programming I think. For example, someone was talking about a "which" command. But I wasn't able to figure out what it does... Which book gives me ideas on such things? Please advice...
# 2  
Old 09-25-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legend986
Which book gives me ideas on such things? Please advice...
How could you go wrong with a book called something like "UNIX for Dummies"? Smilie

"which" looks for a program on the $PATH and prints what it found.

try the following...

Code:
which which
which man
man which
man man

# 3  
Old 09-25-2007
Thanks Smilie

Also thanks for the which explanation. So if I want to implement a hypothetical uwhich command that immitates the original which command, would that come under shell programming?

And finally, are there any unix simulators where i can do all this stuff or do you recommend me to install unix altogether?
# 4  
Old 09-25-2007
Quote:
So if I want to implement a hypothetical uwhich command that immitates the original which command, would that come under shell programming?
or pascal, or C or C++ or Java or Perl or whatever language you chose to write your "uwhich" program in.

Quote:
And finally, are there any unix simulators where i can do all this stuff or do you recommend me to install unix altogether?
Why simulate when you can have the real deal?

What are you intending to simulate on? And what is your definition of UNIX?

If I am to guess that you are using Microsoft Windows, then you could do worse than try Cygwin or even Microsoft's very own "Services For UNIX".