changing filenames in a directory to a number within a loop

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting changing filenames in a directory to a number within a loop
# 1  
Old 12-07-2007
changing filenames in a directory to a number within a loop

hey guys. i'm new to shell scripting but not new to programming. i want to write a script that will take all the files in the current directory that end with a particular filetype and change all their names to a number in order. so, it would take all the jpg files and sort them in alphabetical order, then it would change their names from 1 all the way up to the end, so maybe 36 or something. whatever, until there's no more image files. this sounds like it would be a simple and short script to write, but i have no idea where to start. can anyone help me, or direct me to a similar script so i can hack it? thanks
# 2  
Old 12-07-2007
Here is a simple model to try -
Code:
#!/bin/ksh
extension=$1
let i=1
cd /path/to/somewhere
for file in `ls *.$extension`
do
      mv $file $i.$extension
      let i=$i+1
done

usage: myscript.sh jpg
# 3  
Old 12-07-2007
i see. so what's the $1 for? does the shell recognize that as the last characters after the last dot '.' in a filename?

also, i just want it to work for the current directory. so no reason to have a path. i guess you could, but just make it something like '$path = pwd' or something. would that work? i was thinking of using a for loop but this looks much simpler and less lines of code. i thought there would be regex involved or sed or something more complex so that it would only work on a few filetypes (images). i'd like to just type in the command while i'm in the directory i want to change and have it do it without typing in any other commands or options or parameters. what do you think?

btw i use zsh. that shouldn't make any difference right?
# 4  
Old 12-07-2007
You said you wanted the list sorted alphabetically:

Code:
for file in $(ls *.$extension | sort); do ...