Checking a file on a remote windows server

Operating Systems Solaris Checking a file on a remote windows server
# 1  
Old 03-18-2009
Checking a file on a remote windows server

Hi Everyone!

This is what I need to do...
I am deploying some directories over to a windows server 2000/3 box from my solaris10 box and I need to make sure the directories exist.

The only form of connection I have to work with is SSH
Currently, my script deploys the directories over to the windows box using SCP. After each scp command I want to verify the existing directories on the windows box

I am still new to this and I am having a hard time wrapping my head around this...

when I ssh into the windows box I only have windows commands to work with

Is there another way to do this?

the only way I could think of was to

1) scp the directories
2) scp a batch file which checks for the existance of the directory and output exist or notexist to a txt
3) send the output back to my solaris10 box
4) then use some commands on the solaris box to determine if the txt exist (exit=0) or notexist(exit=1)

I was hoping one of you could enlighten me and throw out some thoughts on how to go about this..

thank you so much

Erin
# 2  
Old 03-18-2009
Not familiar with behaviour of sshd on Windows but one can run a command on a remote host thus:
$ ssh host command

So you might be able to run "dir" on your Windows machine from your Solaris box like this:
$ ssh windowsmachine dir > resultfile 2>&1

and then grep the resultfile for the directory you are looking for and if you are lucky then you may get the string <DIR> (DOS style dir result) on each line that is a directory also!
# 3  
Old 03-18-2009
Thanks for the reply

I just tried:

ssh user@windowsbox dir

but it gives me dir not found

I can ssh user@windowsbox then use the command dir but not using that syntax..

any other ideas?
there must be a way to do this

I can't ssh directly into a specific directory of a host right?