Illegal characters in Servername / Path

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Illegal characters in Servername / Path
# 1  
Old 07-20-2007
Illegal characters in Servername / Path

Hi there.

I wonder if anybody can help me. I am very new to this and a bit out of my depth.

I have a .cmd file which sets various environmental variables for me.

When I input a server name that does not contains dots (.) in the name it works fine. As soon as I place in a server name containing dots it fails.

Below is an example of what I mean.

$ENV{'PD_IFORMS'} = '\\\\myservername\\AAA\\BBB\\CCC\\';

$ENV{'PD_IFORMS'} = '\\\\my.server.name\\AAA\\BBB\\CCC\\';

Does anybody know if I can change the line to use an ASCII character for example?

I hope I have posted this in the right area. Please let me know if this should be moved to the 'Perl / Scripting' area, although I have no idea how to move it ;-)

Many Thanks

Last edited by goodjuju; 07-20-2007 at 04:04 AM.. Reason: addition
# 2  
Old 07-20-2007
The dot is a meta character, and as such has to be escaped.
Use \.
# 3  
Old 07-20-2007
jgt,

Thanks for your response.

Do you mean that I could place

$ENV{'PD_IFORMS'} = '\\\\my\.server\.name\\AAA\\BBB\\CCC\\';

in my file to get it to work?

I only ask as I have tried this with no luck.

Thanks
# 4  
Old 07-20-2007
With both Samba and Visionfs you can substitute / for \ in the server name, so that :
$ENV{'PD_IFORMS'} = '//my.server.name/AAA/BBB/CCC/';
# 5  
Old 07-20-2007
I thought that I had sent another reply about 2 hours ago, but it seems to be lost so:

Terminal type is ansi
# x="\0134\0134server.name\0134device"
# echo $x
\\server.name\device
# 6  
Old 07-23-2007
JGT,

Thanks again for your response, however it does not seem to make sense to me. Maybe I am just being dim.

Is there another character I can use to replace the full-stop (period .) in my server name.