Stripping out extension in file name

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Stripping out extension in file name
# 1  
Old 02-25-2007
Stripping out extension in file name

This command gives me just the filename without any extension:
evrvar =`echo filename.tar | sed 's/\.[^.]*$//'`

I am trying to make a change to this command... to make it work for... filename.tar.gz to get just the filename....

currently the command gives me filename.tar by removing only gz... I am new to regular expression... pls help.

Thx.
# 2  
Old 02-25-2007
try this:
Code:
echo filename.tar.gz |awk -F. '{ print $1 }'

or
Code:
echo filename.tar.gz |cut -d'.' -f1

or sed solution
Code:
echo "filename.tar.gz" | sed 's/\(.*\)\.\(.*\)\.\(.*\)/\1/g'

or
Code:
echo "filename.tar.gz" | sed 's/.......$//g'

Last edited by ahmedwaseem2000; 02-25-2007 at 05:08 AM..
This User Gave Thanks to ahmedwaseem2000 For This Post:
# 3  
Old 02-25-2007
If filename does not contain period(s):

Code:
$ fname="filename.tar.gz"
$ echo "${fname%%.*}"
filename

Otherwise:

Code:
${fname%.*.*}

Last edited by radoulov; 02-25-2007 at 08:15 AM..
# 4  
Old 02-25-2007
Thanks for the replies.

can this regular expression be made possible to use for both filename.gz & filename.tar.gz

I want to get filename for both of these commands as just filename only:
echo "filename.tar.gz" | sed 's/\(.*\)\.\(.*\)\.\(.*\)/\1/g'
echo "filename.gz" | sed 's/\(.*\)\.\(.*\)\.\(.*\)/\1/g'

thanx in advance.
# 5  
Old 02-25-2007
You could use either the awk or the cut solutions they will work in all the scenarios. Here is the sed solution to generalize on both the occasions.

Code:
 echo "filename.tar" | sed "s/\([^.*]\)\.\(.*\)*$/\1/g"

Last edited by ahmedwaseem2000; 02-25-2007 at 12:09 PM..
# 6  
Old 02-25-2007
Quote:
Originally Posted by ahmedwaseem2000
You could use either the awk or the cut solutions they will work in all the scenarios. Here is the sed solution to generalize on both the occasions.

Code: