Scheduling a script by using Crontab

Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Scheduling a script by using Crontab
# 1  
Old 09-22-2010
Scheduling a script by using Crontab

Hi,

I need to schedule a script in crontab which should run at 01:00 am in the morning and should run for every 15 days in a month.

How to schedule this by using crontab?

Many thanks.

Rgds,
# 2  
Old 09-22-2010
I believe most crontabs would accept:
Code:
0 1 1-15 * * /path/to/script

This would run on the first 15 days of a given month at 1am.
(I presume this is correct - your definition of "every 15 days a month" is slightly ambiguous)
# 3  
Old 09-22-2010
Thanks citaylor!!!

I mean to ask the script should run once in a fortnight( twice in a month ) at 1am.

Rgds,
# 4  
Old 09-22-2010
Code:
0 1 1,15 * * /path/to/script

This will run on day 1 and day 15 of the month
# 5  
Old 09-23-2010
thanks citaylor
# 6  
Old 02-16-2011
HI Citaylor,

Path/to/script means exat how it works .i am new to cron....

I tried lot of times but it doesnt working

i tried 0 1 * * * /home/cnu/pgm.sh..
------------
but it was showing 0 :command not found...
The underline should me problem seems...pwd is /home/cnu...

Many Thnaks In Advance
Sree Vasu
# 7  
Old 02-16-2011
what's the output, can you see the file under /home/cnu?

Code:
ls -l /home/cnu/pgm.sh

Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers

Scheduling a script

Hi, I have my script in below path in UNIX /storage/sas_source/SDTM-Development/FileWatcher/filewatcher.sh I want to schedule it to run every 30 secs. Please let me know the steps to do it. Thanks. (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: prats_7678
7 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Crontab Scheduling

I want to schedule a job as - Every Weekday at 12:30 PM and 9 PM in a single line. How can i do that (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: varlax
2 Replies