NIS Useradd

Operating Systems Solaris NIS Useradd
# 1  
Old 11-11-2008
NIS Useradd

Hi Friends

I have added a new user 'test" in my NIS server and have rebuilt the passwd maps.
But i am unable to login as "test" from any of my clients.The "ypcat passwd" command is displaying the new user in the Client's machine.

I am quite new to NIS and want to know whether i am missing up something.

Please help.

Thanks
HG
efunds
# 2  
Old 11-11-2008
You are missing to:
- post your question in a single thread
- provide material that would help figuring out what is wrong in your case (configuration files, error messages)
# 3  
Old 11-11-2008
On the server, does "su - test" work with the user's password?
# 4  
Old 11-12-2008
Friends

I managed to find where i erred. There was a config prob in my /etc/nsswitch.conf file.

Jilliagre,will remember to log the error messages next time for any posts.

Thanks for the responses.

HG
efunds
Login or Register to Ask a Question

Previous Thread | Next Thread

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

useradd

I want to creat a 27 logins in solaris.Can anyone tell me how to write a script for that so that i create at a time for all 27 people. Thanks to guide me. (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: kkalyan
6 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Validating that the NIS and NIS+ services are disabled

I'm creating a scrip for auditing our AIX box's to ensure that they are built according to our system standards. I'm not sure on the logic for checking to see if the NIS and NIS+ services are disabled. any idea's? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: sport
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

useradd?

Hi Experts, when using useradd command, what are the necessary options/arguments to be included? Please advice. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: etcpasswd
4 Replies

4. Solaris

How to configure a NIS client bound to the NIS server in another subnet?