Prepend name of directory to children folders

Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Prepend name of directory to children folders
# 1  
Old 03-29-2008
Prepend name of directory to children folders

Hi, I am a shell scripting newbie. I am in need of a shell script that will prepend the name of the parent directory to the child directory.

For example if the shell script called rename.sh is invoked with ">rename.sh /home/foobar/Simple" and the structure of the folder Simple is :

Simple
|_A
|_B
|_C

I need the script to rename A, B and C to "Simple-A", "Simple-B" and "Simple-C" as shown below:

Simple
|_Simple-A
|_Simple-B
|_Simple-C

Thanks in advance for any help rendered.
# 2  
Old 03-29-2008
Code:
#!/bin/sh

DIR=${1}
PREF=hzsho
cd $DIR
for i in `ls`; 
do 
        mv $i ${PREF}${i};
done

# 3  
Old 03-29-2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by mirusnet
Code:
for i in `ls`;

Please don't perpetrate this construct. It's a Useless Use of Backticks and it's wrong if there are any subdirectories. The correct way to loop over all files in a directory is simply

Code:
for i in *

# 4  
Old 03-29-2008
If it were my script, I would perhaps also prefer for it to work in the current directory.

Code:
PREF=$(basename "$(pwd)")

... and do away with the DIR stuff. Otherwise, to conform with the original spec, you should use PREF=$(basename "$DIR")

Last edited by era; 03-29-2008 at 04:10 PM.. Reason: basename $DIR addition
# 5  
Old 03-29-2008
Thanks

Hi era and mirusnet,

Thanks so much for your immediate assistance. This is exactly what I was looking for...Smilie
# 6  
Old 03-29-2008
I have a minor follow up. If I were in the folder when the command is executed from within the parent folder, for example:
Code:
>/bin/folderRename.sh .

then the file names get set with the period and the name of the parent folder is not applied.

Code:
if [${1} eq '.'] 
  then 
   DIR=$PWD
  else
   DIR=${1}
fi
PREF=$(basename "$DIR")
cd $DIR
for i in *; 
do 
        mv $i ${PREF}${i};
done