Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Unix Password File
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Unix Password File Post 9540 by reddyb on Monday 29th of October 2001 03:17:57 PM
Old 10-29-2001
password file

No one on the system including the root can trace your passdword.but he can change/erase your password!

thanks
Bhupal

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Password (AIX UNIX)

Need Help, I am new in unix. (AIX UNIX - RS 6000). I need a unix script to be able to change a unix password by just passing the user id and the new password. I need this script for the reason that my unix password should be the same on my applicatiion... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: randyth
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX password file

Hi,im trying to find an example of a Unix user password file (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: jodders
1 Replies

3. HP-UX

UNIX ID Password Expiration

We are trying to implement an Password Aging system that will force UNIX Accounts to change their passwords every 3 mons or so. This will be done my our Server Support Provider. We want to identify UNIX IDs that connects to our server via ftp,scp,sftp and other special connection protocols. IN... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: tads98
2 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Running UNIX commands remotely in Windows box from Unix box – avoid entering password

I am able to run the UNIX commands in a Windows box from a UNIX box through "SSH" functionality. But whenever the SSH connection is established between UNIX and Windows, password for windows box is being asked. Is there a way to avoid asking password whenever the SSH connection is made? Can I... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: D.kalpana
1 Replies

5. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Problem in converting password protected excel file to csv file in unix