Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Switching shells in UNIX Scripts Post 88975 by Scoobiez on Thursday 10th of November 2005 10:50:12 AM
Old 11-10-2005
Switching shells in UNIX Scripts

Solaris

Newbie here to scripting in UNIX/SOLARIS.
What I am looking to do is, once the script is
executed, switch to /bin/bash shell and continue
to execute the script.

The problem I run into is once the script switches to the Bash
shell, the script stops, and does not execute the remainder of the script.

Script looks like:

clear
/bin/bash to switch to Bash shell

Then the remaider of the script to execute

Anyone know how I can switch shells in a script and still have the script execute the lines below the switch?

Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Good Unix Shells ?

Hey Guys i am new to Unix and i have downlaoded Cygwin for Windows and deleted it. I was just wondering is there any good shells like that for windows that just as good thanks for your time ][ce (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: IceCold
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

switching shells??

Hi How can i switch shells on linux and freebsd? i tried changing the passwd file and restarted the computer but i still get the same old shell. anybody has the answer? thanks (6 Replies)
Discussion started by: xNYx
6 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

How to open multiple shells while the scripts keeps running.

Hello, I've tried for a while now to run a bash script that continues to the end, while opening new shells as needed. I've tried xterm -e "somecommand"; & xterm -e " somecommand"; I've also tried screen -S "somecommand"; & screen -S "somecommand"; All without any luck, they... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: Closed_Socket
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Kernel Switching?