Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: real newbie need to know...
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers real newbie need to know... Post 8501 by Uninewb on Friday 12th of October 2001 11:15:31 AM
Old 10-12-2001
Question real newbie need to know...

hi everybody,

so as you know i'm a real newbie in the unix world and i wanna know if i can install unix (not linux or other derived) on a toshiba T1950 portable computer ? It is a 486 cpu with 8mb ram, monochrom screen, and a 200mb hd, no cdrom... The latest version of unix is not necessary, a very old one is good too, if i can still use it with internet etc

I also wanna know how big is the last version ?

Thanks for your help !!

Uninewb Smilie

6 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Hi, everybody...i'm a real newbie

Hi mates.... i just got started...truely so...cuz i just borrowed a Unix for dummies from the library...wondering if i could go download a system to play with...but i don't no where....any suggestions? thanx a lot :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: PhilO_<
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Real Newbie

Helo Friends, I am new to this forum. I am very much intrested to learn UNIX Administration so please can any one teach me or tell me ur suggestions installing , maintaining,administrating,commands,and Shell programming. please leave ur suggestions and guidelines. Thanx... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: mybestway
1 Replies

3. Solaris

real newbie here...

solaris 10 x86 system installed fr dvd really well....log in no problem etc.... in my true A.D.D nature i want to learn unix...I am not into self punishment but it is something i just want to do.... i am at the command line now and i just want to know what shell it is we are working with... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: drisnya
5 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

UNIX newbie NEWBIE question!