Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Displaying files
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Displaying files Post 83215 by giridher2000 on Monday 12th of September 2005 11:50:52 PM
Old 09-13-2005
Displaying files

I am beginner to UNIX.
I wanted to display 5 filesname with size from BIN directory. The order of display should be descending order in size.

Can help me.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Displaying files in a directory

Dear Experts, I am new to UNIX and I have a script below and in this test case I am reading the names of the files in the present directory into a variable and then looping through each file name and displaying the name back to the screen. The problem I have is although there are 5 files in the... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: markjohnlowe
4 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Displaying a list of files

Given a set of log files like trail.<timestamp> that are generated hourly, how do I get the list of files created for the current date, using shell script? Can anyone please help me?the format of the trace file is trail.YYYYMMDDhh I also need to know how I can "grep" for a particular word in these... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ggayathri
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Parsing log files, displaying logs between specific dates

Sorry, couldn't really think of a simple subject/title. So, I have a log file, and the dates are displayed like so: 2009-03-05 02:49:44 So the first and second field are the date/time. I can change them into a unix timestamp easily with: date -d "2009-03-05 02:49:44" +%s However,... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: Rhije
17 Replies

4. AIX

Russian fonts not displaying in AIX PDF files