Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers combine 2 lines (command & echo) Post 8079 by primal on Friday 5th of October 2001 09:02:26 AM
Old 10-05-2001
ghoti,
tried that, didnt work Smilie i have tried that code before (found it on the net) i also tried piping it into echo, didnt work (hey im a rookie, im trying anything lol)

livinfree,
wow, thanks so much. ill read over your message and see if i can make heads or tails of the code. just scanning throught it, i noticed something.... why did you double cut?

name_t=`grep ^${1} /etc/passwd | cut -d: -f5 | cut -d, -f1`

oh and the 2>&1 is?

who | grep $1 >/dev/null 2>&1

thanks! im gonna read some more.
-primal

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Combine two lines

Hi I have a file with the records 1 A B C D 2 E F G H 3 I J K L 4 M N O P In the ouput I want 1 A B C D 2 # F G H 3 I J K L 4 M N O P How to achieve this? (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: superprg
10 Replies

2. What is on Your Mind?

[[ $(date +%Y) == 2007 ]] && echo "Happy New Year"

Same as the Title! :) (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ripat
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

combine 2 lines

Moderator, kindly delete this thread because I already found what I needed... thanks. (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Deanne
0 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

combine two perl lines into a single perl command

Hi Everyone, i have a string 00:44:40 so: $tmp=~ s/://gi; $tmp=~s/({2})({2})({2})/$1*3600+$2*60+$3/e; the output is 2680. Any way to combine this two lines into a single line? Thanks (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jimmy_y
4 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Append && echo "success" to all commands