Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers erasing portion of line with sed Post 77298 by zazzybob on Wednesday 6th of July 2005 09:46:10 PM
Old 07-06-2005
echo "blah blah blah (12355)this is what i want" | sed 's/.*)\(.*\)$/\1/'

Cheers
ZB

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

erasing portion of line with sed (only once)

hi, I'm trying to use sed to erase everything, up to the first parenthesis. for example: input: blah blah blah (aldj) test (dafs) test test. output: (aldj) test (dafs) test test. how would i do this? I was fooling around with the parenthesis, and i only got it to apply on all parenthesis.... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: gammaman
1 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk program to select a portion of a line

Hi all, I am new to awk programs.I have a file like this vjfavhjlaf<LTEXT>aabcdfffvvbbxbcddjbv</LTEXT>fAFdfdADfd vjfavhjlaf<LTEXT>aabcdfffvvbbxbcddjbv</LTEXT>fAFdfdADfd vjfavhjlaf<LTEXT>aabcdfffvvbbxbcddjbv</LTEXT>fAFdfdADfd vjfavhjlaf<LTEXT>aabcdfffvvbbxbcddjbv</LTEXT>fAFdfdADfd... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: anju
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Delete a portion of a line using shell scripting

Hi all, I am new to awk programs.I have a file like this 1234567@2345||adcbdefhij: asgdfdasdfhhfd-asdfasd-dsfasdf |0.678|0.0|0.213 1234567@2345||adcbdefhij: ashhfd-asdfasd-dsfasdf |0.129|0.0|0.411 1234567@2345||adcbdefhij: asd-aasd-dasdf |0.223|0.0|0.276 I want to delete the text which... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Loy81
3 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Print a portion of a line

Hi, I am facing a little problem... I have a line like this : asdcvashfasashXXXXxxxzxcadd:sdcashjqdasdsmgdkdaxdsnd; I want to print just a portion of line i.e starting from left 5 characters from ":" and upto ";" i.e. in this case it would be "xcadd:sdcashjqdasdsmgdkdaxdsnd;" The length of... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: vanand420
2 Replies