Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting getting error 0403-016 Cannot find or open the file while reading a long line Post 73766 by karthee on Saturday 4th of June 2005 02:31:09 AM
Old 06-04-2005
getting error 0403-016 Cannot find or open the file while reading a long line

Hi,

I have an requirement of reading a long line of 7000 chars and cutting it

iam doing this :

while read -r x
do
echo $x

done < `cat filename`

when iam doing this it is giving me "0403-016 Cannot find or open the file."

Can anyone let how this can be done.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

0403-057 Syntax error at line 70. pls help

Hi All, I got a script from one of the unix forums for reporting on filesystem usage and wanted to use it but it keeps giving me the following error. 0403-057 Syntax error at line 70 The script is shown below. Pls help as I am new to UNIX. # set -x # D I S K S P A C E . S H # #... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: OMONI
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Script Error: 13192.sumr: 0403-016 Cannot find or open the file.

Hello, i am familiar enough with unix to do some damage but thats about it. We have a set of RS/6000 43P Model 150's running AIX for our Catia V4 programmers. back in the 90's a script was written to automate the conversion of files into machine code. that script has started giving us... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: jgruenwald
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Receiving error: ./ang.ksh[35]: 0403-057 Syntax error at line 116 : `done' is not expected.

Hi All I am quite new to Unix. Following is a shell script that i have written and getting the subject mentioned error. #!/bin/ksh #------------------------------------------------------------------------- # File: ang_stdnld.ksh # # Desc: UNIX shell script to extract Store information.... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: amitsinha
3 Replies

4. SCO