Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: daemon scripts
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting daemon scripts Post 73212 by dharmesht on Sunday 29th of May 2005 10:20:43 PM
Old 05-29-2005
daemon

Hi ,
By making a script a daemon ,if u mean that u want to run it as a backgroung process the u can run it as :

scriptname &

and if u want the script should run even after the unix session has been logged off then u can use it like :

nohup scriptname &

I hope this makes it clear , if any other way is possible please someone post a reply to this.

cheers !!!

dharmesh

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Daemon, scripts and processes

Hi, I am new to the world of Unix, I need some help in doing a small project at work. Can anyone point out any good references for the below functions? Objective --------- To write a daemon that will run in the central server to 1) access our process(I will find this out), log down... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: seongyin
1 Replies

2. Programming

Daemon

i want to write a daemon service which listens the 8080 port and write down all the details in one file. How can i do this ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: santosh123
2 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Profile scripts versus rc scripts....

what is the difference between login and profile scripts versus the rc scripts? (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: rookie22
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help with Script using rsh and scripts within scripts

Hi, I've written a script that runs on a Database server. It has to shutdown the Application server, do an Oracle Dump and then restart the Application server. Its been a long time since I wrote any shells scripts. Can you tell me if the scripts that I execute within my script will be executed... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: brockwile1
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

Running scripts within scripts from cron