Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Collecting data from TOP to a file Post 6507 by LivinFree on Thursday 6th of September 2001 12:11:14 AM
Old 09-06-2001

I checked the man page here at work for top(1). Try using the -f flag. For example, top -f proc.log will save the first 16 processes to the file proc.log. top -n 37 -f proc-long.log will save the first 37 processes to a file called proc-long.log. For more information, please check out man 1 top on your system.

[Note: The flags and arguments are not always portable between systems. Please check the top manpage on your flavor before using]

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need Help: Collecting similar messages in a file

Hi All, Since i am very new to shell scripting, i need help from you guys. Suppose there is a file containing: Log message: Ashish "asasasa" asasa asasa asasas.info1 Log message: Kapil "asasasa" asasa asasa asasas..info1 (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: ashish.kapil
2 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

Need help collecting addational data

I am attempting to gather data from 700 + routers. I have written a script that gets me about 70% of the information I need but I am in need of some assistance getting the remainder. I am fairly new to unix and I have not done programming since my 2nd year of high school in 1992. I have a list... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: Garlandxj
0 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

no data redirected to a file with top and grep - why?

HI all, I want to capture cpu data in batch mode of "top" command and redirect to a file like this: top -b > cpu.dat it works! But I want to capture only Cpu lines, so i have: top -b | grep ^Cpu >cpu.dat Then I got an empty output file. Why? Could somebody explain and help me to make it... (15 Replies)
Discussion started by: fongthai
15 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Collecting specific portion from a file