Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers seperate hard drive for unix & x windows Post 6353 by jeffersno1 on Tuesday 4th of September 2001 10:49:18 AM
Old 09-04-2001
HARD DRIVE JUST FOR UNIX

Im studying at Shellield Hallam University. I start Unix and X windows in October. I want to know whether to partition my 30 GIG hard Drive and have unix operating system working on 10 GIG of that or to have it on a completley different hard drive but on the same tower.

In regards to putting it on a hard drive, How do i install it onto the 10 GIG part of my hard drive, and are there any tutorials on how it's done.

Im not too hot on programming, ive only programmed in C++ and will be programming in unix when i start at Uni.

Thanks for your patience.Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Wiping UNIX Hard Drive

Hello all, Maybe someone can help? Please?!?!? How do I wipe a UNIX hard drive, For dos I use Norton. Is there something like that for UNIX. I am just barley understanding UNIX, so please forgive my ignorance. Also, is there a government approved method of sanitization? Thanks (10 Replies)
Discussion started by: rocky123
10 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Formatting hard drive from Unix to Windows

Can a hard drive be formatted from unix server to windows 2000 professional? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: howarddtp
4 Replies

3. Filesystems, Disks and Memory

The best partitioning schem for a 250GB Sata hard drive & a 75GB SCSI hard drive

Hi I have 2 75GB SCSI hard drives and 2 250GB SATA hard drives which are using RAID Level 1 respectively. I wana have both FTP and Apache installed on them as services. I'm wondering what's the best partitioning schem? I wana use FC3 as my OS, so, I thought I can use the 75GB hard drive as the /... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: sirbijan
0 Replies

4. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

format unix hard drive on windows xp