Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Check sendmail is not receiving any emails Post 63166 by Kinki on Wednesday 23rd of February 2005 05:36:38 AM
Old 02-23-2005
Question Check sendmail is not receiving any emails

Hi all,
Need some advise again. I am new to sendmail service which is already configured by some other administrators. I would need to write a script to check whether sendmail service is enabled in Solaris and Linux.
Using this command "ps -ef | grep sendmail | grep -v grep".
Or is there any better command?
The above command will give me a line with "-q15m".

The problem is i need to check that this service is only for delivering emails and Not for receiving any emails.
How do i go about writing the script for Solaris and Linux?

Thank you in advance for some advice.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Help me in receiving,validating emails and save them in local directory

hi, I'm working on a project where I get mails from different customers, what I need to do is I need to check if it is genuine mail and if there is any attachment I need to validate them and extract the message and save in the local directory as a text file say and then I need to direct it to... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: sudharsanc
4 Replies

2. AIX

sendmail only sends emails to its own domain

Hi, folks! I have a problem with an AIX 5.3 server running sendmail where it is able to send messages within its own domain just fine. This is being used for a web email service portion of a web site. However, when it attempts to send email to any other domain -- i.e., hotmail.com -- it... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: jjwood64
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

run a perl.script upon receiving an email in Sendmail