Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers tar: write error unexpected end of file Post 626 by robyn on Wednesday 20th of December 2000 12:15:00 PM
Old 12-20-2000
Thanks for responding Smilie. The files that I am trying to backup are not very big. The VXA tape drive that I am using seems okay for the moment. Your theory about the cleaning tape not being in good shape seems likely. New cleaning tapes arrived the other day so I will take one of these (at your suggestion) and see if this makes a difference. If it doesn't, do you think that a corrupt file in the directory in which I am trying to backup may be the cause?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

End of file unexpected error

Hi, I am new to unix. I have written a script whenever i am giving sh filename.sh its prompting unexpected end of file in line number 40 in that line i have echo statement what do i need to do thanks in advance (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: hamsa
5 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

tar: write error: unexpected EOF

Hi friends, I am using Sun Solaris 5.9. I want to take backup of 3 folders which are 50 GB in size totally using tar command on tapes. I am having DAT 72 tape. After initiating tar command (tar -cvf /dev/rmt/0n /tmp/dir1/ /tmp/dir2/ /tmp/dir3/), tarring is stopped after 10 hrs (approx) and i am... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: vijayakumar.pc
7 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

I am taring to disk and get this message: tar: write error: unexpected EOF This message is normally associated with tape devices, not disk. Here is the syntax: tar -cf <tarfilename> /dir Have you seen this message on disk tars? (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: jabe
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

unexpected end of file error