Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers set uid question w/ backup script Post 5725 by Perderabo on Tuesday 21st of August 2001 12:54:02 PM
Old 08-21-2001
Very few versions of unix are left that allow suid scripts. Any version of unix that allows suid scripts has a serious security problem.

You need to look at a program called "sudo" that can allow non-root users to run scripts as root in a secure manner.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

set UID on linux

Hi, I just want to know if it's possible to set the UID bit for a script, so that it executes not as a owner of process, but owner of the script. i.e script tesh.sh owned by 'user1', 'file1' owned by user1 has 700 permisssions `who am i` rm -v /tmp/file1 user 2 need to execute test.sh, ... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: braindrain
2 Replies

2. AIX

Backup question

Hi All! I'm rather new in AIX so I want some comments about backup scheme I've developed to backup every part of the system. I have the following hardware: - Power6 570 server with two VIO server and 3 LPARs - NIM server outside (on the other Power server) - Windows 2003 Server with Tivoli... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: kogor
2 Replies

3. Solaris

A question about backup.

Hi all. There are some SPARC mashines. What method can be made from them backup (slices or entire disk) in field conditions if I have only the laptop with win xp pro and the internet? (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: wolfgang
5 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

awk script doubt in extracting and comparing uid

Hi, I need to get the value of 'uid' from a line in file f1. For example, in the line below, I need to get the value '150', from the 'anonuid=150' key, and I need to verify that this is a valid uid by checking it against /etc/passwd (i.e) I want to compare this uid, 150 (or more if there are any... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: royalibrahim
2 Replies