Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Need help writing simple script Post 5198 by tamdoankc on Wednesday 8th of August 2001 06:00:35 PM
Old 08-08-2001
Java Need help writing simple script

I'm trying to write a simple unix script that will delete files after 30 days of being created. I've never done this before but conceptually it sounds easy. Here is what I'm trying to do:

Get System Date
Get File Date
If (sysdate-filedate>30days)
rm file

All of these files are contained within a single directory and they could have different file names.

thanks!!!

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

help for writing a script

Hi, I need help writing a unix script to change the time in the server automatically when it reaches a specified time. Only on the 14th of april, when the time becomes midnight (00:00:00), I need the server to change the time automatically to 23:30:00 and start working on as usual with a... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: amodha
2 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

HELP! writing simple shell script

how would i write a shell script to show the number of lines in which int variable appears in a c++ program. (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: deadleg
3 Replies

3. Programming

Tools for writing a simple syntax checker?

I'm trying to write a small utility for syntax checking. I've tried using Flex/Bison, but these seem too advanced for my task. A simpler tool would be appreciated. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Ilja
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Writing a simple loop in perl

Dear all, I am a complete newbie to (perl) programming and I am completely stuck in a project. I have the following arrays @array_1 @array_2 @array_A @array_B @array_C Each element pair of array_1 and array_2 is linked to all elements of a third array (e.g. array_A, array_B or... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: docdudetheman
3 Replies

5. Red Hat