Sponsored Content
Special Forums Cybersecurity Solaris 8, RPC, and CDE need some help. Post 4860 by Beauford on Wednesday 1st of August 2001 09:13:20 PM
Old 08-01-2001
Not to sound stupid, but why? What does RPC have to do with a desktop enviroment. I am new to this and want to understand how the two intertwine.

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Solaris 8 CDE gone?

Help! I performed a sys-unconfig as suggested in one of the other threads to set up IP on hme0. Unfortunately after all is said and done, it no longer boots to the CDE but sits at a command prompt. Any ideas (I don't know Unix). Thanks in advance! Rob Cluett (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cluettr
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

CDE in Solaris

I was wondering, if I boot up a Solaris box and the CDE does not come up by default when I log in, does that mean that the box has a GUI at all? If that is the case, where can I download CDE from? I am accustomed to RedHat and Windows, so unfortunately Solaris throws me off a little bit. (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Jody
1 Replies

3. Solaris

NFS and RPC in Solaris 10

I have been told to disable the rpc processes such as rstat and rusers on some servers for security concerns, what if I am running NFS on those servers. Would it affect the NFS since both rstat and rusers are nfs daemons?? I MUST have the NFS running on the server. Can I disable rstat and rusers... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: mitsurughi
2 Replies

4. UNIX Desktop Questions & Answers

How to migrate Solaris 10 CDE config to HP-UX CDE.

Hello, Do you guys by any chance know what is the best (if any ) way to move CDE configuration from a SOLARIS 10 machine to HP-UX? Just the config (actions, text files etc). Thanks in advance! (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: binary0x01
0 Replies

5. Solaris

RPC: Rpcbind failure - RPC: Timed out