Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: newbe looking for extra help
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers newbe looking for extra help Post 48147 by Optimus_P on Friday 27th of February 2004 09:28:03 AM
Old 02-27-2004
check our FAQ.

you will find answers to all the questions you have asked.

as far as chooseing a distrobution just pickone. pick one that alot of people have and you will find alot of poeple to help w/ that.

freebsd
openbsd
fendora
slackware
solaris

take a pick.

8 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Total Newbe,how do I start????

I am totaly new at Unix, and have a job offer in about 6 months if I can get a handle on Unix comand lines and other needed things to get this job.Please help me I really want this job.I am about to finish my A+ cert., and have studied for the MCSE 4.0 (paid for a school and then Microsoft... (7 Replies)
Discussion started by: Chip1856
7 Replies

2. Linux

Newbe Linux user with his first question...

Okay, I have Mandrake Linux 9.1. I'm trying to set up different software sources from the source manager. My problem is, I know where I want the software to come from, but I don't know what to put in the "Relative path to synthesis/hdlist" area. Can someone help me and explain exactly what the... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: Shadowmane
3 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Unix Newbe

Hi, First of all. I'm a Unix newbe and never worked with unix (but I have got Linux for a few months), but I'd like to know where to get Unix or if it's x86 compatibel and all those questions. I know...ridiculous questions, but I really wanna know this. So: Where do I get Unix? Is it compatible... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Kotzkroete
1 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newbe to linux and beryl