Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Installing Linux on an individual drive and the MBR.. Post 4808 by Neo on Wednesday 1st of August 2001 12:22:15 AM
Old 08-01-2001
You will still need to install lilo and make sure your MBR is correct.

The root, var, home, etc directories are all normally part of the / partition. This can easily be less than 500 MB on a 30 GB drive!

The rest of the drive can be a nice /usr partition of about 5 GB and
the rest on /usr/local ....... (don't forget to add a swap partition, at least the size of your RAM, some people go 2XRAM for swap, but that was in the old days when RAM was rare and expensive. Now, with 128 MB and 256 MB RAM common, swap is rarely needed).

Of course, there are other ways to do this.... Smilie

9 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Solaris

Error After Installing Tape Drive

Hi, I am a newbie to Solaris, I have a SunFire V120 box, i was trying to install a tape drive(HP SureStore DAT24), i did the install in this manner. # rm -rf /etc/path_to_inst # init 6 later at the "ok" prompt i gave "boot -ar" after doing that it asked me various options i accepted the... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: rajendra.rait
2 Replies

2. Linux

Installing tape drive?

Hello. I have Redhat 8.0 on a laptop. Working good. I wanted to install the tape drive that is physically attached to it. The tape drive worked fine under Windows98SE. It's one of those parallel QIC-80 drives and I confirmed that it is supported by FTape. It appears that FTape might already... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: RuralTurtle
0 Replies

3. Red Hat

Dual boot (Booting Windows from Linux MBR)

Hi , I have two disk installed with Linux(disk 1) and WinXP(disk 2) .Now i am changing Hardisk jumbper manualy to get in to Linux/Windows .I want to configure my REDHAT linux boot manager to list Linux and WindowXP and wanna boot according to my choice . Here is what my fdisk -l shows (Only... (2 Replies)