Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Executing JCL through UNIX
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Executing JCL through UNIX Post 46497 by Perderabo on Saturday 17th of January 2004 01:16:42 PM
Old 01-17-2004
ftp is just a way to transfer files. I don't understand why you expect it to run stuff.

We use ftp to our mainframe, but it just transfers files back and forth.

You might try:
site help
to see what site commands the server supports.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Executing UNIX command from java on NT

Hi - I am totally new to UNIX so please bear with me... I run a java program on Win NT server to do file ftp to UNIX server. I log in, cd, create ftp file on UNIX and quit from my java progam - all works well. Now I want to execute a script on UNIX. At the UNIX 'console'/'shell' (!?) you... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: CJ Walt
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

any such thing as JCL for Unix?

beyond newbie but I figured, what better place to ask than the "dummies" section :) Please point me to any online documentation for such a beast if it exists. thanks (11 Replies)
Discussion started by: jump23
11 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Executing a unix command

Hi, I need to execute the following unix command through my java code - zip -e When i execute this command from the command prompt, i am prompted for a password in the following manner - Enter password: Verify password: Is it possible to provide the password inthe first command itself... (5 Replies)
Discussion started by: jacob23
5 Replies

4. Programming

Executing pl/sql using sqlplus on unix

Hi to all, I have a endday.sh file. And I execute this like "sh endday.sh" from command prompt. In endday.sh file it writes: sqlplus temp/temp@data @run.sql& echo $!>>pid.txt However my aim is not to put the pid into pid.txt but I need to insert the pid into an oracle table using sqlplus.... (1 Reply)