Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers Processes, Services, Daemon's and Subsystems Post 41788 by quickfirststep on Tuesday 14th of October 2003 01:49:40 PM
Old 10-14-2003
Question Processes, Services, Daemon's and Subsystems

I'm just wondering what the differences/relationships there are between processes, services, daemons and subsystems?
I keep coming across these terms but I can't find clear definitions/explanations of these terms.

Smilie

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Daemon, scripts and processes

Hi, I am new to the world of Unix, I need some help in doing a small project at work. Can anyone point out any good references for the below functions? Objective --------- To write a daemon that will run in the central server to 1) access our process(I will find this out), log down... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: seongyin
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

Monitoring Processes - Killing hung processes

Is there a way to monitor certain processes and if they hang too long to kill them, but certain scripts which are expected to take a long time to let them go? Thank you Richard (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: ukndoit
4 Replies

3. AIX

subsystems are all inoperative

Hi, As part of our maintenance schedule, we reboot our systems every few months to test HACMP and etc... etc.... It looked like everything was normal but when we tried to bring up HACMP, we didn't see anything in the /etc/hacmp.out and we didn't see any processes associated with HACMP running.... (0 Replies)
Discussion started by: xender69
0 Replies

4. Solaris

Identifying and grouping OS processes and APP processes

Hi Is there an easy way to identify and group currently running processes into OS processes and APP processes. Not all applications are installed as packages. Any free tools or scripts to do this? Many thanks. (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: wilsonee
2 Replies

5. Ubuntu