Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Dumping multiple Folders
Top Forums UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users Dumping multiple Folders Post 32376 by Freakytah on Friday 22nd of November 2002 08:05:50 PM
Old 11-22-2002
Dumping multiple Folders

How would i go about dumping my /home/ directory and my /root directory

i currently have.....

dump -f /root/backup.dp /home/ /root/

...but dump only seems to see only my first source directory and not the second (/root in this case)

anyone know a way around this..or if it is even possible?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Creating links to multiple folders

Hi All, First of all, I'm a unix newbie so don't be to hard on me :) I'm not even sure if the thing that I want is even possible but here goes nothing: On my linux based NAS I have the following structure: videos |---movie 1 |---movie 2 |---movie 3 | USBDISK |---videos |--- movie... (8 Replies)
Discussion started by: kvb
8 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

runnning a shell script in multiple folders

Hey everyone, I'm fairly new to both unix and shell scripts. Right now I have a script that I can run in one folder (if a certain text file is there, do one thing, if it's not, do something else). I want to modify this to run in multiple directories. My setup is: a company directory, and within it... (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: melearlin
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

check if multiple folders exist

I want to check if some directories with common prefix exist under current directory with bash, say, I have dictories like: dirct_1 dirct_2 dirct_3 ... in the current directory. I did: if then echo " directories exist " else echo " directories not exist " fi (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cristalp
3 Replies

4. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

overwrite file in multiple folders