Sponsored Content
Top Forums Shell Programming and Scripting Redirect and append output to different files Post 303046226 by RudiC on Tuesday 28th of April 2020 06:07:06 AM
Old 04-28-2020
As ususal: what OS and shell versions?

In (recent) bash, set the pipefail option:
Code:
$ set -o pipefail
$ ls -l fxxxx | tee -a file2 | tee file1
ls: cannot access 'fxxxx': No such file or directory
$ echo $?

This User Gave Thanks to RudiC For This Post:

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Append and redirect

Can somebody please explain to me what redirection (>) and append are? What is the difference between > and >>? Thank-you (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Anna
1 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Redirect output to multiple files.

Hi, I am new to shell scripting and have a question. I would like to redirect the output of a command to multiple files, each file holding the exact same copy. From what I read from the bash manpage and from some searching it seems it cannot be done within the shell except setting up a loop. Is... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: cbkihong
3 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

How redirect output(error and normal) to 2 different files

Hello, I have a java program which i am calling in shell script. I wanted to redirect output to 2 differetn files. Output should have both 1 & 2 (normal and error) in both file. pls help (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: balareddy
2 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Dynamically redirect output to duplicate files ???

Hi There are many posts in this forum regarding reditecting output, but mine is a different problem, please have a look. My shell script is redirecting output to a log file dynamically. That is it is using - exec > log1.txt 2>&1 Hence all the traces are appearing in the log1.txt. I want... (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: nsinha
3 Replies

5. Shell Programming and Scripting

output redirect