Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Newbie question about syntax
Operating Systems SCO Newbie question about syntax Post 303046066 by margaretduddy on Wednesday 22nd of April 2020 04:22:47 PM
Old 04-22-2020
Newbie question about syntax

Apologies for asking a dumb question - I am a total newbie and have a question about reading documentation.

In the man page for the command ps2pdf the synopsis is:

Code:
ps2pdf  [options...] {input.[e]ps|-} [output.pdf|-]   
ps2pdf12  [options...] {input.[e]ps|-} [output.pdf|-] 
ps2pdf13  [options...] {input.[e]ps|-} [output.pdf|-]

I don't understand the details of {input.[e]ps|-}
Specifically what does the "e" represent?

TIA for your help.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

newbie question

hi im thinking of getting unix but i have no idea where to start I know that its an OS similar to linux but what hardware does in run on? i've heard of solaris but im not quit sure what it is thankxs (3 Replies)
Discussion started by: ninja
3 Replies

2. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Newbie Question...

Okay, I succesfully installed Redhat Linux 7.2 on my comp. I got some Linux drivers for my network card off the manufacturers site, but said driver is just some C source code. Does anybody have any idea what I do with it? Sorry for being vague... any help is greatly appreciated. (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: flopper
4 Replies

3. UNIX for Dummies Questions & Answers

Newbie Question

Hi, I have a file, that is delimited by :: and the purpose of this file is none of your business. ;) There are about 65000 lines in this file, and there are lines that I would like to remove. About 45000 of them. Is there some sort of commands that I can run, to remove word(s) from this... (4 Replies)
Discussion started by: th3gh05t
4 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Newbie question