Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Using variables to copy files with increasing numerical names. Post 303044900 by Jovec on Sunday 8th of March 2020 10:04:10 AM
Old 03-08-2020
Using variables to copy files with increasing numerical names.

Hello, I have been learning Linux shell commands for about 4 months now. I am trying to write a simple shell script, but I have encountered an issue I do not understand the cause of.

Code:
#!/bin/bash

first=1
last=10

cp path/to/files/{$first..$last}.dat ./

When I run my script I get an error.
[user@x dir]$ ./myscript.sh
cp: cannot stat `path/to/file/{1..2}.dat': No such file or directory
[user@x dir]$

However when I run it without variables.
Code:
#!/bin/bash

cp path/to/files/{1..10}.dat ./

Running script without variables.
[user@x dir]$ ./myscript.sh

It copies the ten *.dat files from the path/to/files to the directory of myscript.sh. How can I get the script working with variables? Thanks in advance for any help given.

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. UNIX for Advanced & Expert Users

copy files with invalid names

Hi all, I have to copy a directory to another location. While doing so with the cp command I got some errors due to invalid filenames of some files. For example, some files have a colon in their names, which is throwing error. These files are not copied to the destination. How to copy... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: fermisoft
1 Replies

2. Programming

Adding files of numerical data

Hi I was hoping that maybe someone could help me with a small piece of C code. I have a number of files, which are all of similar layout ie. three lines of text and 5-6 columns of numerical data. I need to add each of the elements of the second column in one file to their counterparts in the second... (17 Replies)
Discussion started by: Boucho
17 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

compare files by numerical value