Sponsored Content
Full Discussion: Bash beginner
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers Bash beginner Post 303041595 by darklord173 on Thursday 28th of November 2019 12:00:52 PM
Old 11-28-2019
I think i get what you are saying but

COMMAND_OUTPUT >
# Redirect stdout to a file.
# Creates the file if not present, otherwise overwrites it.

I thought this would actually create if not preseent, have i done something wrong in the previous bit?

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

Please help. I am a beginner.

Alrigt, I need to write a shell script where it counts the number of folders and files and dispays "My home directory has 'x' files and 'y' directories." So, I was thinking of doing this. set x = `ls | wc` so, if I have 8 files and folders in my home directory, x is not 8. now, I was... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: Lykathea Aflame
1 Replies

2. Programming

Beginner C

Anyone know where I can get started in C++ programming in unix? Any good free tutorials or websites to start at? I am okay in unix scripting but have never done c programming of any sort... What are the main advantages of using C++ ? (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: frustrated1
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Beginner bash scripting - a few problems

Hey Guys, I am creating a bash script on my freeBSD box, the script should basically ask the user to enter a username and domain. The script will take this information and basically append alot of information to config files so the user can receive email from that domain and create a web site at... (1 Reply)
Discussion started by: traxy
1 Replies

4. Shell Programming and Scripting

Beginner looking for help