Sponsored Content
Top Forums UNIX for Beginners Questions & Answers How to identify delimiter to find and replace a string with sed? Post 303040551 by duke0001 on Thursday 31st of October 2019 11:26:13 AM
Old 10-31-2019
RudiC:

Thanks. I debugged as this, this time, sed found the specific MON and replace it with whole value of $NEWDATE. But the DD and YYYY are not searched and replaced. I put DD in search, then the command doesn't work again. Here is output,

Code:
/home/oracle> /usr/xpg4/bin/sed "s/\(JUL\)/$NEWDATE/" test4.txt
       ep.begin_date, ep.end_date, ep.facility_code,
AND    ep.begin_date <= '01-01-OCT-2019-2019'

/home/oracle> /usr/xpg4/bin/sed "s/[0-3][0-9]\(JUL\)/$NEWDATE/" test4.txt
AND    ep.begin_date <= '01-JUL-2019'

I will continue debug DD and YYYY
Thanks

10 More Discussions You Might Find Interesting

1. Shell Programming and Scripting

How to find a certain string in a file and replace it with a value from another file using sed/awk?

Hi Everyone, I am new to this forum and new to sed/awk programming too !! I need to find particular string in file1(text file) and replace it with a value from another text file(file2) the file2 has only one line and the value to be replaced with is in the second column. file 1: (assert (=... (21 Replies)
Discussion started by: paramad
21 Replies

2. Shell Programming and Scripting

replace (sed?) a string in file with multiple lines (string) from variable

Can someone tell me how I can do this? e.g: a=$(echo -e wert trewt ertert ertert ertert erttert erterte rterter tertertert ert) How do i replace the STRING with $a? I try this: sed -i 's/STRING/'"$a"'/g' filename.ext but this don' t work (2 Replies)
Discussion started by: jforce
2 Replies

3. Shell Programming and Scripting

Help identify string using sed